Reviews Xaviera Hollander's Happy House

“wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 18 January 2014
As i have stayed there many times i can only recommend it to you - as written before, you dont want to leave anymore cause you feel home. Philipp is a master cook, I had one of my most declicious meals for a long time. Will be back there in a couple of weeks to enjoy freedom With Love Arik

Ariksan
Zurich

Xaviera and Philip were fantastic hosts.
This is their home so the eclectic mix of furniture and books they have collected or written made ​​it very cozy and homely .
Breakfast was a large round communal dining table which we shared with Xaviera and Philip, and two other guests . They bent over backwards to provide a rich, hearty start to our day . We walked into town and caught a tram home so it was very convenient .
We bought one of Xavieras famous book - ' The Happy Hooker' . Her fame is everywhere , books , paintings , photographs and magazines . This is a trip to a fascinating people past and present life .
Not for the conservative, but why would you want that conservative ! Xaviera is booking until the early hours down into her chair in writing . PCs are available for use if you are not one of your own. The garden studio is separated from the house for a more private stay , and I think the lovely attic rooms are finished now .
We 'll definitely be back . Thanks X and P Gilly & Suzie

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Xaviera en Philip zijn erg vriendelijk en behulpzaam. Een warm welkom in hun gezellige villa. De B&B ligt zeer dicht bij het stadscentrum ( minder dan 5 minuten per tram). Comfortabele kamer en uitstekend bed. Ontbijt was heerlijk. Als u voor een gezellig verblijf zoekt met vriendelijke makkelijke mensen kiest, kies dan voor Xaviera Hollander's Happy House in plaats van een hotel. Ze hebben ook een prachtig tuinhuis!

Reviewed 8 August 2013
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 August 2013

I went there with two friends of mine and we had such a great time ! The place is full of history and the people here are just so nice that you didn't wanna leave. We'll be back for sure as soon as possible. Xaviera is juste wonderful and interesting just as everyone in this house. Don't trust the [--] comments about the cleaning: everything was clean. An awesome place for an awesome city, I only have one regret : my trip here was too short, next time I'll stay a week or so. thank you Xaviera and Phillip and see you soon.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends


5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 July 2013

GOOD PLACEMENT..vintage interior...NO COMMENTS....HEAVEN IN AMSTERDAM...staying in this place was very very wonderful...just happy mood...city views from balcon

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends


"The house itself has lots of character and is a great introduction when arriving in Amsterdam"

We spent three nights here in Xaviera Happy House in late July 2013 . The house itself has lots of character and is a great introduction when arriving in Amsterdam. The breakfasts were very nice and relaxed and in the courtyard , and the chefs were very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent , in a very nice part of town just outside the tourist center . It was very nice walk along the quieter local canals early each morning , as the busy tourist canals in the city center known. The design of the houses and neat streets around this area is really nice to walk around and check out. Xaviera's husband also hooked us up with the museum pass reduction tickets from the house which was very convenient to the city before . The great thing is that the house is still very close to the city center , 10-15 minutes on the tram , which is very convenient . Europe was a heat wave while we were there , and our room was a little warm place when trying to sleep , but we do not suffer a lot . We would happily stay here again and highly recommend it .

Glenn and Hannah Burrell - New Zealand

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 22 July 2013

You will feel at home at The Happy House in Amsterdam. I was so relaxed that I enjoyed breakfast, while still in my PJs. Also, they serve breakfast up to 11 AM, so sleeping late isn't an issue. The garden is a delight and filled with interesting exotic foliage. Every room has a personality and style that has a 70s groovy feel to it. You will be very well-connected to anything in the city, but you won't have to put up with the hoots and hollers of roving stag parties. The hosts are attentive to your every need, without being intrusive. And buy the book and get it signed! The Happy Hooker by Xaviera Hollander is a historic piece of literature that was part of what led the sexual revolution of the 70s.

Room Tip: If you are a couple looking for a romantic getaway, pick the garden chalet! The Golaith room was great...

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends


5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 June 2013

Staying in the home of Xaviera Hollander while in Amsterdam was a delightful experience and one of my favourite parts of my visit to Amsterdam. I enjoyed Xaviera's book, The Happy Hooker, as I came of age in the 1970s. She is an inspiring human being. Staying in her home was an honour. Xaviera and I did not get to meet as she was in Spain during my time in Amsterdam. However, we did speak on the phone. I love that she lives life fully and on her own terms. People who appreciate the body of work Xaviera shared with the world will enjoy this B&B. I stayed in the Chalet. It was lovely. The staff, Adrian and Stefano, are spectacular hosts and interesting people. They made me feel at home. They were inspiring conversationalists with excellent english. This is now my preferred place to stay in Amsterdam.You may also wish to pick up some autographed copies of Xaveria's books for yourself and as gifts for friends. Enjoy!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo


5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 April 2013

One of the things on "my List" in life to do was stay at the legenday Happy House in Amsterdam, and meet Xaviera herself. After contacting her about my request to book a stay I was fortunate to exchange a few emails with her and also spend an evening with her and Philip over dinner on my stay.
The B&B is definitely comfortable with all amenities needed, great location in a safe and upscale part of Amsterdam. Great hosts and Philip is a great cook as well! The charm and warmth you expect will be delivered ten fold! I will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business


5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 March 2013

A safe, welcoming, comfortable place to stay. Xaviera is a force of nature, if you are lucky enough to run around the city with her you will see what its like to be treated like a celebrity. Philip is just the coolest host you could meet as well, easy to talk to, intelligent, down to earth, friendly. The rooms are comfortable, the food is great. The city is right there for you at their doorstep. You are 1 train stop from the airport, only a short tram ride from the city center, shopping, and museums district. You can just walk out the front door and find tons of good food and things to do within walking distance. Their local advice will help you make the most of your time in Amsterdam, whether you are looking for high culture or just a great time. This was its been almost 20 years now since my first trip, whenever i go to Amsterdam, thats where I stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in Holland are small. The bigger rooms or chalet may suit travelers accustomed to larger rooms...

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo


5 of 5 stars Reviewed 29 December 2012

I read "The Happy Hooker" as a teen and was always fascinated with Xaveria Hollander and her life so when I found out that she operates a B & B in Amsterdam I knew I had to go and meet this legend.
Xaveria place looks exactly like the photographs; a cozy home in a traditional European style. A touch cluttered with a very personal touch, this B & B is like a museum of Xaviera with photographs and painting adorning the walls and masses of books and trinkets throughout the home.
I had opted to have dinner with Xaviera and her lovely husband Philip. It was one of the best meals I have had outside of a 5 star restaurant; we started with stuffed mushrooms followed by Dutch steak. The conversation was lively and colourful as we exchanged stories.
I stayed in the chalet in the back, which was amazingly cozy. The one drawback was that shower was extremely tiny. The chalet was extremely quiet and private, with a very comfortable bed and lush towels.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo


4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 November 2012

Booked the master bedroom - it was a last minute booking and had no time to review what other's had written.
Spent 2 nights, the room we stayed in was Xaviera & her partner's room - spacious with a balcony. The only drawback was that the wardrobes were full up with her clothes :-)
The house is like a museum, really liked it + all the pictures !

The care taker (sorry forgot his name) was very friendly & helpful. Xaviera/partner were away, would have loved to meet them, may be next time! Amsterdam centre is a good 20 mins+ walk.

Highly recommend this place, there is parking as well....for an extra charge.

Room Tip: Master bedroom if it's available !

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple